In the 1920’s Collier Service Station was a staple in the Rainier Valley area. People would come to get their gas filled, oil changed and tires inspected. When the business closed in 1963 there was a void in the area, because this location served a purpose in its community.
Its unique stone structure always caught the eyes of those driving by and became an iconic symbol in the area after closing up shop for over 50 years.
After years of careful construction, The Stone House Café has emerged from this South Seattle landmark opening its doors this morning for its grand opening.
The Stone House Café is a family owned business that has worked hard to keep this location from being torn down and brought back to life.
The building’s new look was meant to hold true to the original era with small touches of a modern day feel, including local art by John Osgood, and more. The Café’s owners hope the design brings a nostalgic feeling to those who have driven by for years.
The menu consists of classics such as corn beef hash, chicken fried steak, croissant French toast, hot turkey sandwiches, fresh salads and more. For those in the market for an adult beverage, it contains a full bar serving Manhattans, craft beers and locally produced wines.
Fresh danishes, croissants, cakes and pies from The Stone House Bakery are located in the smaller building next to the restaurant.
The Stone House Café is open Wednesday to Sunday, 8:00am to 10:00pm, and is located at 9701 Rainier Avenue South.